Latest News: Latest News

Anoka County Board Votes to End Wheelage Tax

Wednesday, July 31, 2013  
Share |

Anoka County, one of the first in the state to adopt a wheelage tax to help maintain roads and bridges, has repealed the $5-per-vehicle charge. The tax will rise to $10 on Jan. 1 in counties that already have it and be $10 in counties that newly implement it.

Repeal had been discussed by board members for at least two months. They made the move last week on a 5-2 vote, with West joined by Rhonda Sivarajah, Matt Look, Julie Braastad and Scott Schulte. Carol LeDoux and Jim Kordiak voted to retain the tax.

In 2006, Anoka County became Minnesota’s second — after Dakota — to pass the wheelage tax. Board members who backed repeal said the $1.3 million to $1.4 million raised each year would not be passed on to property owners.