Latest News: Latest News

Minnesota Trucking Association Names Timothy McNamee 2015 Minnesota Driver of the Year

Thursday, January 28, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kelly Snyder
Share |

The Minnesota Trucking Association (MTA) named Lakeville, MN resident Timothy McNamee, professional truck driver for YRC Freight, the 2015 Minnesota Driver of the Year at its Driver of the Year Banquet.


Timothy has been driving a truck for 30 years and has driven more than 600,000 safe miles. Other notable industry accomplishments include first place at the 2012 and 2013 Minnesota Truck Driving Championships, second place in 2010 and third place in 2015. He is also an active member of YRC’s Safety Committee, a certified Smith System trainer and a new-driver trainer.


“This award is a great way to honor the best in our industry. Driving safe locally is no easy task, especially when you take into consideration his daily driving conditions like congestion, driver distractions and Minnesota winters. Not only is Timothy a great driver on the road, but he also exemplifies outstanding character within YRC Freight and the community. We are honored to provide him with this well-deserved award,” said John Hausladen, MTA president. 


“Tim McNamee exemplifies a safe and courteous driver and he constantly displays professionalism in the work place,” said Jack Hayward, Safety Director at YRC Freight. “If every driver was of Tim’s caliber, the Minnesota roadways would be an extremely safe place.”


As for why Timothy enjoys driving so much, “Being a driver allows me to deliver goods and services throughout my community and I still get to be home each night with my family.” When he’s not supplying the community with goods, Timothy plays golf, spends time with his family and is an active volunteer at his church.    


Throughout 2015, exceptional drivers are nominated by their companies and one driver is chosen each month to be the Driver of the Month. The drivers who are chosen meet a high standard of requirements including an outstanding driving and work record; contribution to industry and highway safety; and involvement in the community. In January, MTA hosts the Driver of the Year Banquet and one of the twelve nominees is selected as Driver of the Year by a panel of judges including Dan Drexler, Division Administrator for Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration and Captain Jon Olsen, Minnesota State Patrol.